South County Prevention Coalition

Charlestown • Hopkinton • Narragansett • New Shoreham • North Kingstown • Richmond • South Kingstown • Westerly

 

Special Covid-19 Edition
Raising Healthy Teens Newsletter! 

Creative Connection During COVID

 

Meet Our Coalition Leaders

Regional Director

Heidi Driscoll:  hdriscoll@risas.org

Grant Managers

Partnership for Success – Kathy Gardner: kgardner@risas.org

State Opioid Response – Cyndi Rego: crego@risas.org

 

Our (Incredible) Community Coordinators
 

Block Island Wellness Coalition

https://blockislandtwc.wordpress.com/
Jill Seppa   jillseppa@gmail.com

 

South Kingstown (SK) Wellness

https://swellri.org/

MK Whitten   SKPP@sksd-ri.net
Sonia Lacombe Slacombe@skprevention.org
Kate Macinanti kmacinanti@swellri.org
 

Narragansett Prevention Partnership

https://www.facebook.com/Narraprevention/
Kelly Cartwright    narraprevention@gmail.com                     
Renae Martin    gansettprevention@gmail.com
 

North Kingstown Prevention Coalition



 

NKPrevention 
Kathy Yeager    kathy_yeager@nksd.net
Robin Monica  robin_monica@nksd.net
 

Chariho Youth Task Force

Charihoyouth.org
Dan Fitzgerald  Dan@Charihoyouth.org
Terri Censabella  TerriCensabella051@gmail.com

 

Westerly Substance Abuse Prevention Task Force


Ashley Iadevaia   Preventionashley@gmail.com 

 

   GOT DRUGS?

   Find out where to dispose of your unused and
   expired medications here

    Count It. Lock It. Drop It!  Have you?
 

Check out what our South Kingstown youth group RIPL are doing in school and the community. Youth engagement is VITAL to our work!



 

 

 

 


 

Communicate the importance of healthy behaviors and establish clear and specific rules about not using marijuana and other drugs. This can be part of a broader conversation about expectations like:
• Doing chores                                              • Following parental rules
• Following laws and school regulations      • Bedtimes
• School and class attendance                    • Curfews
• Showing respect for family members
Remember to provide compliments for good choices and healthy behavior.

What to say:
“It is important to our family that we all stay healthy and safe. One way to do this is to avoid drug use, including marijuana. This is especially important for teenagers since marijuana can harm the developing brain. That’s why we have a family rule against using marijuana. If we find out you are using drugs, what do you think a fair consequence would be?”

Keep track of your child.
• Monitor your teen’s behavior to ensure the rules are being followed.
• Remain actively involved in your teen’s life and get to know his or her friends.
• Network with other parents so that you may support one another to keep your children away from drugs.

Keep lines of communication open.
• Eat dinner together.
• Do fun family activities together.
• Communicate the way your teen does (texting, email, Facebook, Twitter).

Support For Teens:  Alateen Meetings in Rhode Island
If addiction or alcoholism is affecting your family you are invited to an alateen meeting.
 

For Adults: Find an AA Meeting